By Erika Siegert, Analyste principale, Perspectives de recherche nationales, Solutions de données | 2 Décembre 2020

Statistiques sur les transactions d’investissement à Montréal au troisième trimestre 2020

Dans l’incertitude continue causée par la pandémie mondiale, le marché immobilier de Montréal a fait preuve de résilience et de résurgence par rapport aux trimestres précédents. Le troisième trimestre a été marqué par un resserrement des mesures sanitaires dans la région de Montréal et, bien que moins contraignant que le premier, il a mis en évidence la nécessité pour les investisseurs d’ajuster leurs stratégies pour s’adapter à cette nouvelle réalité. À la fin du troisième trimestre, le volume total des transactions pour l’année 2020 a atteint 4,7 milliards de dollars, ce qui représente une baisse de 27 % par rapport aux 6,4 milliards de dollars enregistrés au cours des trois premiers trimestres de 2019. Cependant, les investissements au troisième trimestre ont atteint un volume total de 1,3 milliard de dollars, une hausse de 12 % par rapport au deuxième trimestre mais une baisse de 45 % par rapport au même trimestre de l’année précédente. L’activité d’investissement a atteint 389 transactions, soit une augmentation de 21 % par rapport au deuxième trimestre.

 

Pour le deuxième trimestre consécutif, les secteurs multifamilial et industriel ont été les classes d’actifs les plus en demande, malgré une baisse du volume total cumulé de 25 % et de 7 %, respectivement, par rapport à 2019. Sans réelle surprise, ces deux types d’actifs ont été considérés par les investisseurs comme résistants et stables dans le contexte de l’évolution des conditions du marché cette année. Le secteur foncier (terrains résidentiels et non-résidentiels) a également connu une croissance constante des investissements depuis le début de 2020, en hausse de 21 % par rapport aux totaux cumulés depuis le début de l’année 2019. Le secteur des bureaux continue à éprouver des difficultés, les investissements cumulés depuis le début de l’année n’atteignant que 978 millions de dollars, soit une baisse de 41 % par rapport à la même période l’année dernière. Selon l’enquête sur les tendances en matière d’investissement réalisée par Groupe Altus, Montréal a connu un élan accru et a maintenu sa position de premier marché préféré des investisseurs au troisième trimestre 2020, aux côtés de Toronto. Si les taux d’actualisation sont en hausse depuis le 1er trimestre sur le marché montréalais, la moyenne de 4,90 au 3e trimestre n’est que légèrement supérieure à la moyenne de 4,88 enregistrée au 3e trimestre de l’an dernier. Les résultats de l’enquête ont également indiqué une préférence croissante des investisseurs pour les centres commerciaux de quartier avec épicerie et les immeubles résidentiels à logements multiples de banlieue, ce qui reflète la perception de potentiel de croissance dans un marché en pleine évolution.

Transactions majeures au troisième trimestre 2020 :

Olymbec vend à Pure Industrial Real Estate Trust, Saint-Laurent – Industriel

Malgré les incertitudes économiques, Pure Industrial Real Estate Trust a poursuivi sa stratégie d’investissement par des acquisitions sur le marché montréalais. Au cours du troisième trimestre, elle a acquis un portefeuille industriel de 12 immeubles appartenant à Olymbec, un vendeur très dynamique pendant la pandémie. Le portefeuille a été acquis pour près de 82 millions de dollars, ce qui représente un prix global au pied carré de 106 $. À la fin du troisième trimestre, Pure Industrial Real Estate Trust aura acquis au total 28 actifs industriels sur le marché montréalais, pour la somme de 222 millions de dollars.

Carrefour Langelier, Saint-Léonard – Commerce de détail

La deuxième plus grande transaction du trimestre a été l’acquisition du centre commercial Carrefour Langelier par Group Mach, pour 62 millions de dollars. Cette vente comprenait également un immeuble commercial autonome vacant de 1,26 acres, adjacent au complexe commercial principal, vraisemblablement destiné à être redéveloppé à une date ultérieure.

1445-1455, rue de la Montagne, Ville-Marie – Terrain résidentiel

La troisième plus importante transaction du trimestre a été la vente de ce stationnement de 0,73 acre, situé au cœur de Montréal. Acquis par Carttera pour 48,5 millions de dollars, ce site idéalement situé est voué à un futur développement résidentiel. L’acquéreur a l’intention de le réaménager jusqu’à une densité de 203 200 pieds carrés.

6225, place Northcrest, Côte-des-Neiges-Notre-Dame-de-Grâce – Appartement

Ce complexe de six étages et de 122 appartements acquis par un investisseur privé pour 23,3 millions de dollars a été le plus grand actif multifamilial négocié ce trimestre. Le vendeur de cette transaction est une fois de plus, Olymbec.

6600, rue Saint-Urbain, Rosemont-La Petite-Patrie – Bureau

Cet immeuble de bureaux et d’entrepôts de 157 500 pieds carrés a été acquis d’Olympec par Canderel pour 18 millions de dollars. Idéalement situé dans le quartier Mile-Ex, l’immeuble fait partie du Centre d’Intelligence Artificielle de Montréal. La propriété s’ajoute aux immeubles précédemment achetés par Canderel dans le district de Mile-Ex, 6795 rue Marconi et 153-155 rue Beaubien Ouest, acquis respectivement en 2018 et 2019.

Malgré les incertitudes du marché résultant de la crise mondiale actuelle, le marché immobilier de Montréal semble prêt à rebondir, avec des performances en hausse d’un trimestre à l’autre. Avec la persistance de la disparité entre l’offre et la demande et la nécessité pour les investisseurs d’être plus sélectifs dans leurs projets, Montréal reste très prisée des investisseurs locaux et nationaux.

 

Voir plus d’analyses >

 

close
close
forumDemandez une démonstration
close
close

Thank you for contacting us. we will get back to you shortly!

Ce site Web utilise des témoins pour améliorer votre expérience utilisateur. En utilisant notre site Web, vous acceptez que nous ayons recours à des témoins.
cliquer ici pour plus de détails

By Erika Siegert, Senior Analyst, National Research Insights | December 2, 2020

Amid continued uncertainty caused by the global pandemic, the Montreal real estate market has shown resilience and resurgence compared to previous quarters. The third quarter saw a second lockdown in the Montreal areaand although it was less severe than the first, it highlighted the need for investors to adjust activity and preferences within to align with this new reality. Yeartodate total transaction volume reached $4.7 billion at the end of Q3 2020, which is a 27% decrease compared to the $6.4 billion recorded during the same time period in 2019. However, investments in the third quarter reached a total volume of $1.3 billion, up 12% from the second quarter but down 45% from same quarter last year. Investment activity rose to 389 transactions, a 21% increase compared to the second quarterboth indicating some signs of market recovery

Montreal Q3 property transactions

For the second straight quarter, the two most invested in asset classes were the multi-family and industrial sectors, despite year-to-date total volume dropping by 25% and 7%, respectivelycompared to 2019. With no real surprise, these two asset types have been seen by investors as resilient and stable amid the changing market conditions this year. The land sector (ICI land and residential land) has also shown consistent investment growth since the beginning of 2020, up 21% compared to year-to-date totals in 2019. The office sector continues to struggle with year-to-date investment totals reaching only $978 million, down 41% from the same period last year, due to lack of significant office assets closing since the onset of the pandemic. According to Altus Group’s Investment Trends Survey, Montreal saw increased momentum and maintained its position as the top market preferred by investors in Q3 2020, alongside Toronto. While cap rates have seen a consistent uptick over the past three quarters in the Montreal market, the current average of 4.90 is only slightly greater than the 4.88 average recorded at the same time last year. Survey results have also indicated growing investor preference for both Food Anchored Retail Strip and Suburban Multiple Unit Residential assets, reflecting potential growth opportunities within the changing market.

Montreal overall capitalization rates - Q3 2020

Notable Q3 2020 investment transactions:

Olymbec to Pure Industrial Real Estate Trust, Saint-Laurent – Industrial
Despite the economic uncertainties, Pure Industrial Real Estate Trust continued their investment strategy of acquisitions in the Montreal market. The third quarter saw them acquire a 12-building industrial portfolio from Olymbec, a very dynamic vendor during the pandemic. The portfolio was acquired for nearly $82 million, representing an aggregate price per square foot of $106. With the completion of the third quarter, Pure Industrial Real Estate Trust has now acquired 28 industrial assets in the Montreal market for $222 million.

Carrefour Langelier, Saint-Leonard – Retail
The second largest transaction seen in the quarter was the $62 million acquisition of the Carrefour Langelier shopping centre by Group Mach. This sale also included a vacant stand-alone retail building that sits on 1.26 acres adjacent to the main shopping complex, which will likely be destined for re-development at a later date.

1445-1455 de la Montagne Street, Ville-Marie – Residential Land
The third largest sale seen in the quarter was this 0.73acre surface parking lot located in the heart of Montreal. Acquired by Carttera for $48.5 million, this ideally located site will be a future residential development by the new owners. The purchaser intends for a re-development of up to 203,000 square feet of density.

6225 Northcrest Place, Côte-des-Neiges-Notre-Dame-de-Grâce – Apartment
This six-storey, 122unit apartment complex acquired by a private investor for $23.3 million was the largest multi-family asset traded this quarter. The vendor on this transaction was once again Olymbec. 

6600 Saint-Urbain Street, Rosemont-La Petite-Patrie – Office
This 157,500 square foot office and warehouse building was acquired by Canderel from Olymbec for $18 million. Ideally located in Mile-Ex district, the building is part of the Montreal Artificial Intelligence Hub. The property goes along with Canderel’s previously purchased buildings within the Mile-Ex district, 6795 Marconi Street and 153-155 Beaubien Street West, which were acquired in 2018 and 2019, respectively. 

Montreal property transactions by asset class Q3 2020

Despite market uncertainties resulting from the current global crisis, the Montreal real estate market looks poised for a rebound with performance growing quarteroverquarter. With the bid-ask disparity persisting and the need for investors to be more selective in their projects, Montreal remains a hot commodity among local and national investors.

 

View more insights >

 

ABOUT DATA SOLUTIONS

Data Solutions connects the Canadian real estate industry through the delivery of data with unparalleled breadth, integrity and relevance.  We cover new homes, investment transactions and commercial market inventory in key markets, and also provide intelligence on the national housing market and consumer home buying and borrowing patterns.

Our solutions are used by real estate industry stakeholders to gain market intelligence, identify and validate opportunities, benchmark, strategically plan, manage risk and more.

Data Solutions is part of Altus Analytics, the software and data solutions business of Altus Group, where our focus is to empower real estate clients and partners to work collaboratively to enhance decision making, drive performance and optimize transactional efficiency. Our solutions enable firms to better organize and manage data and connect with the right information and analytics to help them gain a complete picture of real estate assets, portfolios and transactions.

For more information on Data Solutions, please visit www.altusgroup.com/data.

ABOUT ALTUS GROUP LIMITED

Altus Group Limited is a leading provider of software, data solutions and independent advisory services to the global commercial real estate industry. Our businesses, Altus Analytics and Altus Expert Services, reflect decades of experience, a range of expertise, and technology-enabled capabilities. Our solutions empower clients to analyze, gain insight and recognize value on their real estate investments. Headquartered in Canada, we have approximately 2,500 employees around the world, with operations in North America, Europe and Asia Pacific. Our clients include some of the world’s largest real estate industry participants across a variety of sectors.  Altus Group pays a quarterly dividend of $0.15 per share and our shares are traded on the TSX under the symbol AIF.

For more information on Altus Group, please visit: www.altusgroup.com

MEDIA CONTACT:

Elizabeth Lambe
Manager, Communications
Altus Group
(416) 641 9787
elizabeth.lambe@altusgroup.com

Get in touch

Erika SiegertSiegertresearch

Senior Analyst, National Research Insights, Data Solutions

Related posts

close
close
forumRequest a demo
close
close

Thank you for contacting us. we will get back to you shortly!

This site uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using our website, you are agreeing to our use of cookies.
Click here for more information.